Being a Difference Maker

14020034104_ab95cda334_o.jpg

I keep running across pictures from my recent trip to Haiti – each one opening a floodgate of memories. The picture posted on this page is of Nathaniel – one of Pastor Felix’s sons. The photo credit goes to his older brother, who borrowed my camera and took a series of pictures. Nathaniel served as my self-appointed guide while we were in Les Pinasse – showing me around, sitting with me during church services, and being a friend.

The picture reminds me that in many respects, children are children, no matter where they live. They are curious, playful, happy, and generally love life. The picture also reminds me that in spite of all the attributes that kids share – far too many live hard lives and face uncertain futures. Unfortunately, that is true of the kids in Haiti, as well as some of the children in downtown Chandler, Arizona (and any other place in the world).

We all have opportunities to be difference makers – by giving our time, our money, our empathy, and our love. When I think about what I have, and ask what I could give, the answer is a resounding “more.” Here is what C.S. Lewis has to say about giving. I think his wise words can apply to our time, our emotions, our moral support, as well as our physical resources.

Giving to the poor is an essential part of Christian morality. I do not believe one can settle how much we ought to give. I’m afraid the only safe rule is to give more than we can spare. In other words, if our expenditure on comforts, luxuries, and amusement, is up to the standard common of those with the same income as our own, we are probably giving away too little. If our charities do not at all pinch or hamper us, I should say they are too small. There ought to be things that we’d like to do but cannot do because our charitable expenditure excludes them. - C.S. Lewis

As I review my pictures from Haiti, I become anxious to make a return trip. I plan to go back this fall – to spend time with the children of Haiti, to work with the teachers at the orphanage school, to help in some small way, and to give what I can to make a difference.

In the meantime, I know I have daily opportunities to be a difference maker in my own community. I need to make the most of those opportunities.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Haiti: One Month Later

Haiti kind of gets a hold of you. - Sean Penn A month has passed since I returned from a week long trip to Haiti. It was a trip that has profoundly impacted my faith, and my outlook on life. Haiti has changed me. That being said, I have... Continue →