Haiti: One Month Later

haiti selfie 2.jpg

Haiti kind of gets a hold of you. - Sean Penn

A month has passed since I returned from a week long trip to Haiti. It was a trip that has profoundly impacted my faith, and my outlook on life. Haiti has changed me.

That being said, I have quickly settled back into my routines – in many cases, taking for granted the daily blessings I am afforded. For example, at a particularly stressful point in the week, I caught myself saying that I was in “survival mode.” I am not in survival mode. I just need a healthy dose of perspective. Many of the Haitian people I met struggle every day to address the basic needs of life. I just need to remember…

…the people of Les Pinasse and the multiple trips they make, each day, down the mountain for water. Clean drinking water is truly a matter of life, and death, for the Haitian people. Perspective reminds me that I get my drinking water from a faucet in my kitchen.

…the young boy with six toes – the extra toe prone to cuts and infection. Access to quality health care is extremely limited for the majority of Haitians. My possession of a first aid kit, and ability to clean a cut and apply Neosporin, elevated my status from casual visitor to medical worker. Perspective reminds me that I have easy access to pharmacies, medical supplies, and doctors.

…the sweltering conditions of a twenty-eight by eighteen foot, make-shift aluminum school house. While I have never seen so many children in school uniforms in my life, Haitian education still has a long way to go – especially for the children of the desperately poor (which is a majority of the country), or orphaned. Limited resources, unmet basic needs, inadequate teacher training, and (in many cases) poor school conditions get in the way of student learning. Perspective reminds me that struggles of our education system pale in comparison to those in Haiti, and that I might have something to offer to Haiti in this area.

…the longing eyes of children as they watched us eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches (trying to stay out of site in the team van). Many Haitians simply do not have enough food. This is especially true for children. Finding empty bags from Feed My Starving Children was a stark indicator of the struggle for adequate nutrition (but, also an example of how we can make a difference through groups like FMSC). Perspective reminds me that I need only go to my pantry, or refrigerator, for food.

…the daily living conditions of the children at the Good Neighbor Orphanage, and the people of Les Pinasse. Exposure to the elements, insects, unclean environments (due to inadequate, or non-existent) sewage systems takes a harsh told on the Haitian people. Perspective reminds me that I have a home with air conditioning, a lawn, and a swimming pool.

Finally, I know that I need to remember the smiles of the children. In spite of all their struggles, the warmth, generosity, and resilience of the Haitian people is amazing. While slightly blurred, and grainy, the picture at the top of this post is my favorite. To me, the smiling faces, and pure joy, of those children represents hope for a country in desperate need. Haiti is a place in need of difference makers (check out CPR-3 to see some of the opportunities that exist to fight the injustice of extreme poverty in Haiti).

As alluded to by Sean Penn’s quote, Haiti has gotten hold of me.

 
4
Kudos
 
4
Kudos

Now read this

Being a Difference Maker

I keep running across pictures from my recent trip to Haiti – each one opening a floodgate of memories. The picture posted on this page is of Nathaniel – one of Pastor Felix’s sons. The photo credit goes to his older brother, who... Continue →