The Way to a Quieter Life

cross 2.jpg

I can remember hearing a joke that went something like this:

A torrential rain storm caused a river to swell beyond its’ banks, flooding the local community and sending residents scrambling for safety. One particularly devout man was slow to react, and with the flood waters rising rapidly, he climbed to the relative safety of the roof of his home. Being a person of great faith, he began praying for a miracle — certain that God would save him.

As he prayed, and the flood waters continued to rise, a neighbor passed by in a small row boat. “Climb in,” the neighbor said to the man. The man thought this would demonstrate a weakness in faith, so, he refused, and continued to pray for a miracle. Soon, members of the local fire department arrived in a larger boat and begged the man to climb aboard. “No, I have faith that God will save me,” the man replied. He remained on the roof of his house. Finally, a helicopter approached the roof of the man’s home, and the prospective rescuers dropped a ladder down to the man, pleading for him to climb to safety. Again, he refused, convinced that his faith would save him. Soon after the helicopter left, the flood waters consumed the home, and swept the man to his untimely death.

When the man arrived in heaven, he was greeted by God. With exasperation, he said, “God, I demonstrated such faith, and prayed for a miracle. Why didn’t you save me?” Perplexed, God responded, “I sent two boats and a helicopter. What did you expect?”

Sometimes I wonder if this is what I expect — something spectacular, when the answer is simple. I get confused, frustrated, and worried about what it is I am supposed to be doing with my life. Am I in the right career? Is this what I was intended to do? Am I making a difference? I allow myself to be harried, stressed, and overwhelmed by the insignificant. I ask for guidance from God, but I don’t feel like I get a clear answer.

I act as if I am waiting for God to “show-up” and come to the rescue, when he is already here. The truth is that he has provided the answer to all of my concerns — an avenue of rescue. In no uncertain terms, we are are told to,

Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken. ~ Psalm 55:22

“Casting cares” has to become a deliberate practice. We live in a fast paced world, where it can appear to be extremely challenging to set aside time for prayer and reflection. I know I am guilty of thinking that once I have my schedule under control; or after I finish this project; or next year, I will take the time to regularly study my Bible and spend time in prayer.

No wonder I am struggling. It’s not that God isn’t speaking, it’s that I’m not taking the time to listen. Or, worse yet, I am deaf to his words because I don’t like what I hear.

With mixed results, I wear a chain, and dog tag, as a reminder to put my faith in God during difficult times. On one side is inscribed, “Psalm 27.” On the other, “The Lord is my fortress.” From the New Living Translation:

The Lord is my light and my salvation—so why should I be afraid? The Lord is my fortress, protecting me from danger, so why should I tremble? ~ Psalm 27

I am a spiritual child, struggling to understand, grow, and develop a staunch faith in God. I am still shaken. I still tremble. I am still afraid. That is on me. It isn’t because God isn’t present, or because He isn’t speaking to me.

In his book, Mere Christianity, C.S. Lewis writes:

It comes the very moment you wake up each morning. All your wishes and hopes for the day rush at you like wild animals. And the first job each morning consists simply in shoving them all back; in listening to that other voice, taking that other point of view, letting that other larger, stronger, quieter life come flowing in. And so on, all day. Standing back from all your natural fussings and frettings; coming in out of the wind.

Push back the minutiae of the day. Allow the quiet life to come flowing in. Listen to the Other voice.

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

Being a Difference Maker

I keep running across pictures from my recent trip to Haiti – each one opening a floodgate of memories. The picture posted on this page is of Nathaniel – one of Pastor Felix’s sons. The photo credit goes to his older brother, who... Continue →